Twitter Searches Are Taking Off, Co-Founder Claims

According to Twitter co-founder Biz Stone, the service racks up around 800 million searches a day, or 24 billion per month. That’s a lot more than Yahoo’s 9.4 billion and Bing’s 4.1 billion. It’s nowhere near Google’s 88 billion, of course, but still, rather impressive.

Do you ever use the Twitter search feature? Does that even come to mind as an option when you go online to find something? When I’m already on Twitter.com I remember that I can use search there, but often don’t have thoughts of Twittering something until long after I’ve already Googled or Binged something. Can I say binged? Maybe bingeing (A period of excessive or uncontrolled indulgence in food or drink: an eating binge) isn’t that far off from describing internet (or Twitter search?) usage for some.

